Thursday, 9 July 2015

Some Clash on the Fringe Q&A

What is the deal with the Bulk trait?

It got missed out. It's meant to be the same as Inaccurate. -1 penalty to Training when using a Bulky weapon in close combat.

Do you get the area of effect for reaction fire?

Yes, though because of how the game handles timing, it often won't do anything.

To remind: Everything happens as it happens. This means that each figure in a moving squad activates, moves and suffers reaction fire one at a time.

Is there a Run option?

Not currently. If you wish to add one, make it an additional order that foregoes shooting completely but lets you move one and a half time normal Speed.
With testing I may add this to the rules.

Some traits seem similar but have small differences. Is this intentional?

This happens with some of the alien traits. Generally assume they are each written as intended and any differences are intentional.
If this becomes too cluttered over time, they might get stream lined to be identical.

What can you do after recovering from Heads Down?

Remember the timing rule: "Everything happens when it happens".
If you recover from Heads Down, no matter how you recovered, as soon as the marker is removed, you are no longer subject to the status.

This means that a figure that rolls to recover before taking any actions will be able to act normally (provided they succeed).

Can I simply walk into close combat?

One does not simply walk into Mordor but one CAN walk into close combat.
Storm actions just allow you to do so quicker.

Does moving into close combat cause reaction fire?

Yes. The only exception is the extra movement granted by the Storm action.

Prowling units are not subject to reaction shots. Does that apply even when throwing grenades?

Not intentionally so. The order only governs movement. I'll clarify this in a future version.

Does the Suppression weapon trait apply to unaimed fire?


When do leaders use their orders?

The Leader section explains it two different ways, the first is correct (When the unit is selected for activation).
The second explanation (when the leader figure itself is selected to move and fire) is a mistake, though you could play it that way if you prefer it.

No comments:

Post a Comment