Wednesday, 18 October 2017

SquadHammer Storm Trooper Q&A

A few questions for the Storm-Trooper army list:

Points values in general:
I am aware that the current points system over-rates movement speed a little bit.
If this bothers you, reduce the cost of each unit by half its Movement speed.

Resilient:
This negates a +1 Hit bonus from a rule, situational advantage or ability.
As such, if a Storm Trooper Combat squad shoots at another Combat squad, they wouldn't get their +1 Hit bonus.
If Assaulting a Storm Trooper squad, you'd roll at +1 instead of +2 and so forth.

It does NOT get factored into the general target number. In other words, do not raise target numbers by 1 when attacking Storm troopers.

Assault squad deployment:
In most editions of 40K, assault troops can deploy from orbit.
If you want to allow that option, keep the cost of Assault Squads the same and replace Jump with the Descend deployment method (The jump packs burn out their engines on entry).

Recon:
Ignoring terrain penalties is different from ignoring terrain altogether (hover units).
Recon troops cannot enter impassable features.

Officer:
The Command ability is slightly different from the rulebook in that the commanded unit can still activate this turn.

Trooper-priest:
An "unmodified attack roll" of 2, 3 or 4 is a roll where the sum of the two attack dice is 2, 3 or 4.
Note that if such a roll still manages to hit the target, the player doesn't have to re-roll.

Transports and squad sizes:
Transports refer to the number of squads, regardless of the number of figures you use.

Note that a character IS a squad, hence a Trooper APC could carry 2 squads, 1 squad and a character or two characters.
We explain this by assuming that vehicles attached to characters are command variants, with less cargo space.

Trooper APC:
The APC does not have the Armored trait. This is intentional. As we factor low anti-vehicle damage into several unit profiles, not all "tank" vehicles need Armored.